you can almost see the cells multiply

Enlightening the Uninitiated

Dcreiter’s comment on my first post made me think of a conversation I had not too long ago with someone I’ve known for over 10 years.  I brought up some of the research I’d been doing into the Holocaust, and specifically the persecution of certain individuals who had dared to question the official story and numbers.  I could see his expression change immediately, he was actually disgusted with me!  Now, to be clear, I was not harping on and on, or being in any way forceful in what I was saying, my tone was more like “here’s something you might find interesting.”  He replied with something about how “the Nazis were extremely good record-keepers” and “you should check your sources,” and shooed me out of there impatiently without even our customary fist-bump.  I ended up having to apologize to smooth things over and say “forget I said anything.”  My friend is involved in the entertainment industry which may have something to do with it…

Now, why is it, since we live in a so-called “democratic” society with so-called “free speech,” that you can talk about anything at all except for this subject?  What is it, TOO SOON?  Seriously, the over-the-top defensive angry reaction is almost more of an indicator than anything that there is truth here.  I mean, if there’s “so much evidence” and “the Nazis were such good record-keepers,” then surely no one should mind if we just check our math one more time?  It has nothing to do with “hate” or “anti-semitism” to suggest, in the interests of historical accuracy, that we take another look at how we arrived at that figure and make any necessary revisions.

So, what do we, those of us who have opened our minds enough to think about these questions, do?  It does not make sense to alienate those close to us because they will not entertain the subject.  It does not make any sense to endanger our positions of employment and in professional organizations, certainly.  It’s unfortunate that there is a stigma put on this independent thought…but the reality is that there is.

It brings to mind Plato’s allegory of the cave-dwellers:

Behold!  Human beings living in an underground den, which has a mouth open towards the light and reaching all along the den; here they have been from their childhood, and have their legs and necks chained so that they cannot move, and can only see before them, being prevented by the chains from turning round their heads.  Above and behind them a fire is blazing at a distance, and between the fire and the prisoners there is a raised way; and you will see, if you look, a low wall built along the way, like the screen which marionette players have in front of them, over which they show the puppets.

-Plato, The Republic, Book VII, p.514

The prisoners see the shadows of people and objects thrown by the fire as they pass the wall, and as these shadows are the only things they have ever seen, “to them…the truth would be literally nothing but the shadows of the images.”

When once one of the prisoners are released and allowed to turn and look into the light, he will be perplexed and think that the shadows were more real than the objects he now sees.  “And if he is compelled to look straight at the light, will he not have a pain in his eyes which will make him turn away to take refuge in the objects of vision which he can see, and which he will conceive to be in reality clearer than the things which are now being shown to him?”

He will be pained and irritated by the light of the sun, and it will take him time to become accustomed to the real world.  Once he does, he will pity his former fellow-prisoners.  If he returned to the others, his eyes would be unaccustomed to the darkness.

And if there were a contest, and he had to compete in measuring the shadows with the prisoners who had never moved out of the den, while his sight was still weak,and before his eyes had become steady…would he not be ridiculous?  Men would say of him that up he went and down he came without his eyes; and that it was better not  even to think of ascending; and if any one tried to loose another and lead him up to the light, let them only catch the offender, and they would put him to death. (p.517)

Those of us who have escaped from the cave, and accustomed ourselves to the light, must exercise caution and restraint in trying to rescue others who are not ready to see that light.  They may not appreciate our help.  It is for the strong only.  The weak must remain inside the cave.

4 responses

  1. tuli1121

    This is a problem I have, trying to rescue others who are not ready to see the light. I do not have many friends because I do not know how to accept purposeful ignorance. I do not associate with the older generation of my family because, they, to me, are dishonorable. So I have lost the will to try and “rescue” them because it is too late. But I see some of my friends and family, who are racially aware as far as the African problem but once you mention that the real issue is the Jew, you might has well burnt down their house and drove their car off of a cliff. It is too much of a struggle to try to help someone see, who is already lost in their beliefs. As a great man once said, “It is always more difficult to fight against faith than against knowledge.” They will never see it even if a Jew came and stole all of their possessions and killed their children. They would probably assist them with getting the stolen goods into their vehicle because “the bible teaches us to love and take care of the Jews because they are God’s chosen people.” How they can accept being the “red-headed step child” in their own beliefs is beyond me.. I guess it is a lot easier to put the responsibility on something else. “Oh God will provide, God will handle it” instead of taking the responsibility for their own actions.. but that is the sort of apathy that has gotten us to where we are.. I’m sorry I am ranting but this makes me very angry because I don’t know how to accept waste and I see these friends and family of mine as being a waste of good European blood.

    I also try to tell them that we need to start learning survival skills that we do not already know (I live on a farm so we know how to raise animals, fish and hunt) but we don’t know what is safe to eat in the forest. They think I have lost my mind for wanting to move away from this place and move to a more natural setting but I think they are crazy for wanting to continue living on this hamster wheel headed for destruction. Some of my family are starting to see that what I have been telling them is true and that what I have been working for (moving away) is the smart option. But they are too lazy to do anything about it. I have been fighting for a long time to get to where I am now and I am continuing to grow to be the best person I can be. In three months I will have the money to move to the place I have chosen to begin building my new life, where it will be better for me and my future children. I have given them the option of coming with me or staying but they will stay because they are afraid. It will be hard for me to not try to rescue them but they have the choice and they chose.

    October 22, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    • So true. I am fortunate enough to have a few people in my life who are fully aware of what is going on, but most people that you bring it up to, like you say, they look at you like you’re a monster, seriously. It’s like they get right defensive and dig in their heels when you try and challenge what they have always been taught to believe. I don’t think any of us have all the answers but we can at least be open to new facts and observe what is going on around us critically. The evidence is all around us.
      You are lucky to live on a farm, those are valuable skills that will be needed no matter what happens. Best of luck with your move and thanks a lot for your comments!

      October 24, 2013 at 12:30 am

  2. tuli1121

    I do not live on a farm anymore.. but for the majority of my life I did. It is a sad story and one that has been part of the reason to drive me toward a better place. Where I live, I do not know if other places are like this, but if the government wants to build anything on your land, you have to sell it to them. So that is what happened.. They needed a road to be a connection point of another road.. and decided the best place was where my family and other families lived… But the funny thing about it.. part of the place they built the road is in swamp land, and they were too stupid to survey this correctly to notice (or too proud to care) That land may be dry now, that we have not had a hurricane in a few years, but it wont be like that for long. Good bye road 🙂 Mother nature always takes back what belongs to her.

    October 25, 2013 at 2:58 pm

  3. rainlightningwind

    Tuli “you might has well burnt down their house and drove their car off of a cliff.” Haha

    I wrote somewhere else after somebody said “the greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist”

    Or even better, making everyone believe he was a saint/religious, the elect of God… haha hmm, now most rush to his banner, defending him with utmost ignorance and fury.

    December 14, 2013 at 9:57 am

Leave a Reply

