you can almost see the cells multiply

Natural Beauty

From the minute we get out of bed in the morning, to the time we climb back under the sheets at night, we are exposed to countless thousands of synthetic chemicals, many with known harmful consequences to our biology.

We go into the bathroom, we brush our teeth.  We rinse our mouths with mouthwash.  We shampoo and condition our hair.  We wash our faces and bodies.  We moisturize our skin.  We have been awake for scarcely half an hour and we have already slathered ourselves with sodium laureth sulfate, parabens, etc.

The society in which we live teaches us to go to the pharmacy, buy all these products, and use them daily so that we feel clean and *smell nice*.  But what if you discovered that none of them were necessary, and that you could achieve the same or better results by using products that you already have in your kitchen, and that are safe to put inside your body, as well as on it?

Here are some recipes I’ve found or developed:

Shampoo:
One egg yolk
Warm water to measure one cup.

Stir and pour over wet hair.  Massage into scalp and rinse.  No conditioner necessary.

Alternate shampoo:
1/2 tbsp baking soda
Warm water to measure one cup.

Conditioner:
Juice of one orange
One egg white
1/2 tbsp cocoa

Whip with stick blender until thickened.  Very luxurious and smells great 🙂

Face wash:
1 tbsp ground oatmeal
1 tsp plain yogourt

Mix into paste.  Apply to wet face, massage and rinse.

Moisturizer:
Pure cocoa butter.

Solid at room temperature.  Scrape flakes off with spoon and melt in warm hands. Apply to dry skin.

Lip Balm:
2 tbsp cocoa butter flakes
A few drops pure vanilla extract

Warm cocoa butter flakes in microwave or over low heat.  Stir in vanilla extract.  Pour into small round case while still warm.  Apply to dry lips with finger.

Toothpaste:
1/4 cup baking soda
1/8 cup hydrogen peroxide
A dash of peppermint extract

Stir into paste.  Keep in dark-coloured container, as light will degrade the peroxide into oxygen and water.

Mouthwash:
Pure vodka
Fresh herbs

Way better than Listerine 🙂

Exfoliating scrub:
3 tbsp dark brown sugar
2 tbsp sea salt
About 1 tbsp sunflower oil, just enough to make a paste
A few drops of essential oil (I like orange)

Feels great rubbed in anywhere you have rough or dry skin.

“Soap”:
Unrefined coconut oil

Rub it on, rinse it off.  It will leave your skin clean but feeling moisturized.

Sugaring (for hair removal):
2 cups white sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup water

Bring to a boil in saucepan, reduce heat and simmer for 25 minutes until solution is dark amber in colour.  Remove from heat, let cool for 10 minutes and transfer to glass dish (so it may be re-heated later).  To use: rip clean cotton fabric (old sheets or pillowcases work great) into 1-2” wide strips.  Use a butter knife to apply solution to skin in direction of hair growth, cover with cloth strip, hold for a few seconds, tear off against the grain in one swift motion.  Unlike wax, this solution will not clog your pores or follicles, can be rinsed easily with water, and the fabric can be rinsed, dried and reused again and again.  Also your skin will feel incredibly smooth and nourished.

Kitchen cosmetics

11 responses

  1. My wife has been addicted to coconut oil for a long time now and uses it daily for a multitude of purposes – so I can confirm on her behalf that it sure works 🙂 we both feel gradually healthier since we decided to limit the amount of chemicals we use on a daily basis – I recommend that people listen to your wise words on that matter!

    September 19, 2014 at 1:10 pm

  2. I’ve started to use a luffa sponge a few time a week and have used almond oil (on days I don’t use the sponge) as a moisturizer after soaping and have felt the most sleek smoothness afterwards while having a noticeably lighter complexion. Plus, it has a great smell 🙂

    October 2, 2014 at 10:24 am

  3. Joshua Lehr

    Reblogged this on Aryan Renaissance.

    November 1, 2014 at 7:06 am

  4. Ryan Fleming

    Reblogged this on Ryan Fleming and commented:
    It’s nice to see other people living like I do. I’ll be putting together a guide detailing loads of my recipes soon. Till then, enjoy this interesting site I found 🙂

    February 27, 2015 at 9:43 am

  5. Ryan Fleming

    Keep it up, a great blog!

    February 27, 2015 at 9:43 am

    • Thanks! I’m ashamed to say I’ve been neglecting my blog for too long now. I have a new article on the way which I’ve been researching for some time 🙂 hope to publish it soon.

      February 27, 2015 at 11:45 am

      • Ryan Fleming

        Oh don’t worry. I put together thenaturalselectionsblog.wordpress.com as an archive for my recipes but failed to keep up with it.

        DIY Natural does it better than I could, they’re worth a look 🙂

        Looking forward to the new stuff!

        February 27, 2015 at 12:04 pm

  6. SIN

    Have you tried Turmeric? I discovered this recently and it can be used as a Face Cleanser, Teeth Whitener and even a Shampoo. Women in the Middle East have been using it for thousands of years.

    Depends on what your skin is like but normal skin (non/oily or dry) you typically mix it with Milk and Honey. The lactic acid in milk helps a bit as an anti-aging treatment. The grains of Turmeric act as an exfoliate and there’s properties that help with age spots and sun damage.

    I have extremely sensitive skin so I use more home remedies than not, all those preservatives and chemicals were doing more harm than good.

    March 2, 2015 at 1:06 pm

  7. Marcus James

    Hi, how have you managed to get rid of the “itchy little red bumps”? I have many of them on my arms and don’t know what to do, can you help with some tips? Regarding hair products, I’ve found baby shampoo was the only thing to get rid of dandruff, have you ever tried? Thanks!!

    April 22, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    • Yes, I had been rid of my itchy red bumps for a long time, and lately I have had them again on and off. It seems to be associated with gluten. I have switched to a gluten-reduced diet and that seems to help. But, if I eat a large plate of regular pasta, or a few slices of regular pizza, I get the red spots again, on my face, arms or upper chest. In general, I take them as a sign that I am putting something in my body that it doesn’t like. So I would say, examine what you are putting on or into your body. There is something there that disagrees with you.
      Baby shampoo eh? No, I’ve never heard of that haha. If that works for you, that’s fantastic. I find the egg yolk to be the best thing if my scalp is irritated, especially in the dry weather.

      April 23, 2015 at 11:02 am

  8. Adastra

    I apologize for repeating myself, but we would be glad to have you on odalist.boards.net if you ever change your mind about abstaining from forums. I’m leaving WordPress because my WP friends (pretty much all from Varg’s blog) are now there, and it seems to be a much bigger success than you-know-who’s. I hope to see you soon and for you to share how wonderful true love is.

    March 5, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

